top of page

Week 1-1


( that means it's the first week of the first 9-week grading period)

We are going to use this week to get back into "school mode". We will play some games and get to know each other as well as my procedures and expectations. Our schedule will be slightly different for the first few days- this gives the teachers to take care of the school/district required paperwork and procedures.

Please be looking for a folder with lots of important information. There are three things that must be completed and returned:

1. The Receipt of Parent Information Guide Form

2. Clinic Card

3. Performing Arts Form

These 3 things must be returned before they can get lockers. I do not allow backpacks in the classroom, so please get these things signed and returned ASAP!

At times, I will post presentations and handouts that I will use in class. If it's part of my teaching material, it may seem a little incomplete. That's because I use it to guide my discussion. The students are never going to sit and read PowerPoint slides!

Supplies

Each student will need a spiral notebook (1-subject) to use as a journal. He/She will also need a composition book to use as their Interactive Notebook (INB). Both of these will stay in the classroom. We may need an additional notebook later in the year if we fill the first one up (which would be awesome!)

My classroom is usually very active and the kids stay very busy working on a variety of things. I like to use activities that allow them to be creative, so we may be using art supplies from time to time. I keep these in the classroom and we share them as a community. If you want to help stock/replenish my art supplies (especially when you see school supplies go on sale) that would be amazing! Markers (thin and broad point), colored pencils, bottles of glue (not glue sticks), scissors, and bright colored copy paper... these things would definitely be put to use!

Also, please send in tissues, hand sanitizer, and Clorox wipes if you can. I know how expensive this stuff can get, I don't need all of it immediately. Just keep us in mind if you see anything on sale! I'm hoping to keep them happy and healthy throughout the year!

Week at a Glance:

Monday- introductions and procedures

Tuesday- "Just right books", procedures, and syllabus

Wednesday- Balanced Literacy model, Interactive Notebooks, and procedures

Thursday- Journals and procedures

Friday- "The Rose That Grew From Concrete" by Tupac Shakur

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page